BASES -- Summary[p1 of 14]
U.S. MILITARY BASES IN PANAMA
This section provides summary descriptions of the U.S. military bases in Panama from 1904 through 1999. Click on the blue underlined links for individual bases in the right-hand column to access detailed history and description of those installations and on the red underlined entries for current uses after transfer to Panama.
QUARRY HEIGHTS (1916-1998)(134.4 acres/ Pacific side)
Site of the senior military command in Panama 1920-1997
From 1914 to 1916, Quarry Heights was designated Provost Guard Camp and initially served as a temporary encampment for troops, military police post, and senior officer housing area during a six-year upgrade (until 1920) to accommodate the senior military command headquarters.
1916 – Headquarters, U.S. Troops, Panama Canal Zone - temporarily headquartered in an Isthmian Canal Commission building (later the District Court House) in nearby Ancon, during the upgrading of Quarry Heights.
1917-1941 – Panama Canal Department - temporarily headquartered at the same Isthmian Canal Commission building in Ancon; moved to Quarry Heights April 1920.
1941-1947 – Caribbean Defense Command
1947-1963 – U.S. Caribbean Command
1963-1997– U.S. Southern Command, which moved to Miami, Florida, September 27, 1997.
As the headquarters of a regional unified command (since 1947), Quarry Heights was the nerve center for all U.S. military activities in Latin America. Quarry Heights was transferred to Panama January 11, 1998.
FORT AMADOR-Army Sector (1914-1995) (207acres/Pacific side)
Constructed to support Coast Artillery units at Fort Grant (consisting of fortification batteries on Naos,Culebra, Perico, and Flamenco islands) through World War II. It was the headquarters installation of the U.S. Army Coast Artillery District (1919-1947). Fort Amador was the headquarters of the senior Army command in Panama from 1947 through September 1979--from the Army Caribbean Command (1947-1963) through U.S. Army Southern Command (1963-1974) to the 193d Infantry Brigade (Canal Zone). After the Army headquarters moved to Fort Clayton in September 1979 part of the Army sector of Fort Amador and the islands were transferred to Panama October 1, 1979. The rest of Fort Amador was transferred to Panama October 1, 1996.
FORT AMADOR-Navy Sector (1914-1995) (137 acres/ Pacific)
Originally constructed in 1914 as the Balboa Naval Radio Station, one of the earliest Naval stations in the Canal Zone. It served as the Headquarters for major U.S. Navy activities in Panama from 1918 though 1993. In 1940-1941, the Fifteenth Naval District Headquarters building (Bryan Hall) was constructed on this site. The Fifteenth Naval District was disestablished in 1976 and replaced with Commander, U.S. Naval Forces Southern Command (COMUSNAVSO) which merged with the U.S. Naval Station Panama Canal. COMUSNAVSO was disestablished 1991 and replaced by Commander in Chief Atlantic Fleet Detachment South (CINCLANTFLTSO). The Navy sector of Fort Amador was transferred to Panama October 1, 1996, along with the remaining part of the Army sector of Fort Amador.
Site developed, owned and maintained by
William H. Ormsbee, Jr. 2005
Quarry Heights -- Headquarters, U.S. Southern Command until September 27, 1997. Montague Hall (Building 88) in mid-center of photo. [US Army photo - from SCTI 1994 pamphlet]
Amador (in foreground), Causeway and islands of former Fort Grant
Fort Amador-Army- History
Bryan Hall -- Head- quarters, U.S. Naval Forces Southern Command and U.S. Naval Station Panama Canal; previously Fifteenth Naval District.
Fort Amador-Navy- History
Amador-New Uses ____________